Domenech

Every time I see French Coach Raymond Domenech, for some reason he puts me in mind of Harry Shearer from Spinal Tap, A Might Wind, etc.

Perhaps you can see why this is…

domenech.jpg

Voice of Kent Brockman

21343.jpg

Swallowed his pride to play Zidane and the other Geriatricos.

I know it’s not a separated-at-birth smilarity — dammit, in the cold light of day I’m not sure this would ever stand up, but at 11.45 at night, well hell I could see Shearer playing Domenech in a film about the French national team, which I am positive is about to green-lighted by Miramax.

In any event, the net result is that every time I see Domenech now I imagine him speaking like a French-accented Principal Skinner.

6 Responses

  1. That’s Classic.

    I meant to ask this earlier in the week but it was a busy holiday weekend for work and I’m just getting back into it.

    I was disappointed in the play of Ballack in the Germany loss. It always seemed like he was standing around. I am no expert of course. I thought Lehman played an excellent game but was just out of position on the first goal and he was positively bamboozzled on the second goal not to mention demoralized by the first.

    The Frings suspension was a joke and it took away from having a better game that we saw. The Italian defense was an absolute fortress. All in all it has been a pretty good World Cup but with a few too many cards.

    I think the Italians are thugs and I just can’t root for France, so I will watch with mild interest but watch I will.

    Your posts have been great DCT!!

  2. My sister thinks he’s Jim’s dad from American Pie.

    I can see both.

  3. Kanu: your sister wins, I think, Eugene Levy does seem closer. Damn.

  4. BTW, Paragon SC, I thought that Ballack spent more time hacking at Gattuso than the ball. I didn’t spend a lot of time watching the Germans in other games but he didn’t seem to be the main reason for the success…

  5. In my humble opinion, Ballack did exactly nothing in the whole tournament, exept have 3 world class dives in the Argentina match. Which to me makes Germany’s great showing even that more impressive.

    I’m not sold ont he fact that he will excel at Chel$ea either, especially considering he will be a part timer: every match they’ll have to choose two of the followoing for central midfield: Ballack, Lampard, Essien, Makelele, Diarra and Joke Hole.

    The saddest part of all that to me is that as a big time Nigeria supporter I am really excited to watch Obi Mikel, but now that Chel$ea have him he will rot on the bench. They did an Alabama football back in the day and signed him not to use him, but so that thier rivals wouldn’t have him. Sucks, that.

  6. i agree to you trojan!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

