hell’s bells here comes Rooney

Much to my surprise, Wayne Rooney's been cleared to play in the World Cup. I have mixed feelings about this: on the one hand, he's a phenomenal player and will be interesting to watch; on the other, this might improve England's chances of advancing, in which case I may have to give up English newspapers until some time in July. 

Still, given the lack of match-fitness and the speed with which he plays, one wonders. I also can't help but wonder if some dickhead like Cannavaro won't be taking careful aim.

However, I can guarantee you this: if Rooney has a nasty re-injury, the shortest delay between a stimulus and human response will go from "green light / Boston driver honking" to "broken metatarsal / Man United Lawyer suing." 

5 Responses

  1. Now I know where you get the broken metetarsal line on your banner.

    I know a number of people going going to Deutchland for the cup. The in-laws are from Germany and the old man still keeps tabs on his club although I forget which one. I’ll find out and get it to you maybe you can help find out where to get info on the club so the old man and i can talk a lttle soccer.

    Amazing I played all through High school but lost track of the sport when I joined the service.

  2. Happy to help where I can. I know someone who actually *turned down* a chance to go to the World Cup on expenses for work reasons — he’s a writer and was going to get more out another project. I think I might have delayed the professional gratification a bit…

  3. FYI – The pressure for updating is on. You are officially a Burnt Orange Nation source for World Cup updates…

    Keep up the great work!

  4. PB- I believe DCT is in Poughkeepsie this weekend for a family reunion. Hence his excitement for the Angola v Portugal match.

  5. Crap! Just got back an hour ago from the Vassar College reunion — and all I managed to catch so far this weekend was 2 minutes of Mexico – Iran, in a diner in New Jersey, and the last 15 minutes of Angola – Portugal at my sister-in-law’s house… Plainly the pressure is on now!

Leave a Reply

