Here’s What I know…

In a previous post, I boldly proclaimed that the secret to Spain’s success was not playing Raul. So emboldened was I in Spain’s result against the Ukraine that I called out Joaquin as being surplus to requirements.

Why? Because his absence allowed for more diagonal runs by Luis Garcia.

Anything else? Spanish fans should be glad that Senna got all naturalized and stuff.

So 1-0 down to Tunisia, with nothing clicking, Luis Arragones opts to replace Luis Garcia and Senna at half time with Raul and Fabregas, and then shortly David Villa with Joaquin. Everything goes right. Spain looks good again.

In answer to the question asked in the title of this post –

…not as much as I think I do.

4 Responses

  1. Well really, who would have thought that Raul could manage to score, even at a distance of no more than 3 meters? I wouldn’t have believed if I hadn’t seen it myself.

  2. To be fair to Raul it wasn’t as easy as it first looked, I don’t think. Good finish.

  3. Cesc was just awesome. I am biased because as an Arsenal supporter I have been watching him for 2 years now, but that through ball onto the run of Torres which resulted in Spain’s beautiful goal was just incredible. His field vision is just insane when you consider his age. Amazing stuff from an 18 year old. He and Messi are both the truth and the future.

    GREAT site – I just recently got hipped to you. Keep up the excellent work.

  4. fabregas to torres was phenomenal. from that pass to that finish, it was why you watch.

    i would put them both on my tonsorial titan list, but they have doned down their mullets over the years. looks like cesc has a little curl developing. torres has his own angular trichotillomaniac look, so i might actually throw him in

  5. If you want to get staright up freaked out, go over to Arsenal.com and click on Cesc under the squad page, and check out THAT haircut. Holy shit – it makes his Highbury debut mullet look GREAT.

Leave a Reply

