palate cleanser

I’ve just not had it in me to write much about sport of late (although – well done SFA for hiring George Burley; he’s good at making the best of limited resources and yet for once Scotland has a few half-decent players… fingers crossed and all that.)

I have been keeping up with UK footy though, including reading the inimitable Fiver from the Guardian. Alas, they keep providing links to  M.O.R. rock songs of yore, and like an idiot I keep clicking through. Today’s choice – Africa by Toto – was the bloody limit. I needed a musical palette cleanser, and turned to a different SFA altogether:

Speaking of whom, I went to the Super Furry Animals concert at the 9.30 club in DC this past Sunday, and it was great. I can’t say anything one way or t’other about opening band Holy Fuck, because I missed them altogether… which unfortunately I cannot say about Fiery Furnaces. Polished musicians with a tightly performed live act, but that doesn’t change the fact that I managed to go through 2 Boddingtons and a Guinnese – as a coping mechanism – in the 40 minutes between when I arrived and when they finally sat the fuck down. Not my cup of tea at all, I’m afraid.

Leave a Reply

