Some tykes cheer, another one blubs

There’s nothing new that I can add to the general gestalt about Barnsley beating Chelsea in the FA Cup last weekend. On the evidence of the last 20 minutes of the match, which I caught, Barnsley thoroughly deserved the win, and lo there was exultation. Well, except for at the other end of the couch, where my five year old could be found blubbing because I had told her to shut it during the last 90 seconds of the game. Apparently I “love soccer more than [I] love [her].” I wasn’t expecting this degree of emotional mayhem for another 6 years or so. It’s a real change from the last time she burst into tears over a televised sporting event – but then she was only 2 at the time, and there was no reason to expect that the Bush Push touchdown against Notre Dame would cause the “screaming dervish 28 inch vertical leap from the sitting position.” A feat, to be honest, that I don’t expect to be able to reproduce without a cattle prod and a 10 second head start.

2 Responses

  1. What on Earth were you doing still sitting after the 4th down pass to DJ? That play caused enough screaming to alarm the kids in this here casa.

    This year I’m thrilled with the FA cup because none of the big 4 are in it still and I’m liking the CL because all 4 of them are still in it. Funny how that works.

    Go Barnsley!

  2. To my great shame, OC Phil, I was upstairs at the time. I simply couldn’t cope any more, so I had hit “record” and was tracking the game via cell update while tending to small people – it being the early evening here at the time.

    I went tear-assing downstairs because there were no phone updates, and caught the final four plays or so.

    A friend of mine pointed out that it’s physically unhealthy to switch from adrenaline fueled euphoria to grief in ~ 60 seconds, which meant that the game was literally bad for the health of Domers. This seemed funny until the end of the 06 Rose Bowl.

Leave a comment